Kyoto Prize at Oxford 2024: Laureates Panel

Please note this event takes place online only.

The panel discussion as part of the Kyoto Prize at Oxford 2024 will see the Laureates Dr Elliott H Lieb and Nalini Malani engage in a conversation with Professor Ngaire Woods, Dean of the Blavatnik School, discussing insights from their careers, future challenges and which skill each Laureates wished they had outside of their professional field.

In 2023, the Kyoto Prize was awarded to Dr Elliott H Lieb, 2023 Kyoto Prize Laureate for Basic Science, a pioneer of mathematical research in physics, chemistry, and quantum information science based on many-body physics, and to Nalini Malani, 2023 Laureate for Arts and Philosophy, an artist from the non-Western world who has faced the predicaments of the oppressed, pioneered artistic expression representing the voice of the voiceless, and contributed to the ‘decentralisation’ of art.

Dr Ryuzo Yanagimachi, the 2023 Kyoto Prize Laureate in Advanced Technology, sadly passed away last year. He is recognised for his ground-breaking work in the development of essential assisted reproductive technologies in modern society through both basic research and technological development. Colleagues of his from the University of Hawai’I will offer their thoughts and memories about the Professor and his work.