Launch Workshop - Medical and Life Sciences Translational Fund
The Translational Research Office will be launching MLSTF 2021 during a virtual workshop taking place on Tuesday 7th September 2021 from 10:00 to 11:30. The workshop will include talks from the TRO about the MLSTF scheme, the various co-funding opportunities available, application process and key timelines for consideration. There will also be a keynote presentation from the MSD’s Entrepreneur in Residence Dr Nessa Carey, who will provide some key tips and expert advice on how to write a compelling translational funding application.

The eagerly awaited MLSTF 2021 call for proposals and call text will be announced w/c 23rd August.

The full programme of the workshop will be as follows:

10:00 – 10:05| Welcome (Speaker: Dr Deepak Kumar)
10:05 – 10:20| MLSTF Call – Scheme details and Application Process (Speaker: Dr Sarah Wagstaffe)

10:20 – 11:00| Co-funding Opportunities
10:20 – 10:30| Novo Nordisk Innovation Fund (Speaker: Dr Dorthe Lundsgaard)
10:30 – 10:40| Oxford Biomedica Innovation Fund (Speaker: Dr Yatish Lad)
10:40 – 10:50| CRUK (Speaker: Dr Gillian Shuttleworth)
10:50 – 11:00| OUI University Challenge Seed Fund (Speaker: Dr Jane Liew & Dr Jas Jandor)

11:00 – 11:20| Writing a Compelling Translational Funding Application (Speaker – Nessa Carey)
11:20 – 11:30| Q&A

If you would like to register to attend the MLSTF 2021 Workshop please contact the TRO by emailing the

The Translational Research Office
Date: 7 September 2021, 10:00 (Tuesday, 20th week, Trinity 2021)
Venue: Venue to be announced
Speakers: Deepak Kumar, Sarah Wagstaffe (Head of Translational Research Office), Dr Nessa Carey (Royal Society Entrepreneur in Residence at the University of Oxford), Dorthe Lundsgaard (Novo Nordisk), Emilie Syed, Gillian Shuttleworth (CRUK), Dr Yatish Lad (Oxford Biomedica), Dr Jane Liew (Oxford University Innovation), Dr Jas Jandor (Oxford University Innovation)
Organiser contact email address:
Booking required?: Required
Booking email:
Cost: Free
Audience: Members of the University only
Editors: Anne-Sophie Schillinger, Deepak Kumar